LEWAS Awards 2023

About the Awards

Now in its 9th edition, the Leadership Excellence for Women Awards recognises outstanding women in the energy industry who have excelled professionally and personally through their unmatched contributions in the areas of leadership, innovation, talent, research, and outreach. Each of the seven awards covers categories ranging from academic excellence to technical categories.

Open to women of age 18 onwards and all nationalities based in the Middle East, LEWAS encourages students, academia, line managers, business directors, scientists, owners, content creators, government, and private sector to participate as long as they have worked in their capacity to make the energy industry a better place.

2023 Award Categories
Nominations are Closed
  • Academic Achievement - University Student
    A young woman in university who demonstrates academic excellence and leadership, and is majoring in science and/or engineering in the energy industry

  • Academic Achievement - University Professor
    A female academic professional with 10+ years of experience in the Science and/or Engineering department in the energy industry.

  • Rising Star
    A young professional woman with 3-5 years of experience in the energy industry. She is someone who has been recognized for special achievements within her organisation.

  • Leading with Excellence
    A professional woman with 5-15 years of experience in energy who has gone above and beyond to demonstrate leadership skills, excellence in corporate performance.

  • Woman of Achievement
    A professional woman, with a background in Science and/or Engineering with over 15 years of experience in the energy industry.

  • Corporate Male Champion
    A professional male with 10+ years of experience who has gone above and beyond to develop and support women as professionals and potential leaders.

  • Corporate Excellence
    An organisation that has excelled at initiatives to encourage, advance, hire, and retain women through inclusive hiring and development practices, as well as developing and implementing innovative D&I programs.


  • Who Can Apply
  • Energy Sectors Applicable

    • Oil & Gas
    • Electricity
    • Coal
    • Nuclear
    • Renewable Energy (Thermal, Wind, Hydro, Solar, Biofuels)
    • Water technologies
  • Related Industries

    • Transport
    • Energy Efficiency
    • Energy Consultancy
    • Energy Investment
    • EPCs
    • Environment
Key Dates
Shortlist Announced

25 September 2023

In-person Awards Gala Dinner
& Symposium
21 November: Gala Dinner
22 November: Symposium
2023 Sponsors
Made on